Customer reviews for Lennox Residential EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Lennox Residential EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Two-stage furnace with Power Saver™ technology
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
37 out of 40(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Review 1 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New Furnace, So Far So good

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromRochester Hills, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchase this EL296E unit because my old 12 yr old furnace was getting unreliable. The new furnace is quiet, I can barely notice it is running. Also the 2 stage heating seems to make the temperature more stable.
I also considered the EL296V and EL195E, but I wanted a 2 stage furnace, and I am not convinced that the variable speed motor on the 296V is worth the difference. If you want the wireless thermostat that can be controlled anywhere, you'll need the 296V, the 296E does not support it.
No issue with the new furnace yet, I don't expect any until the unit gets much, much older.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smaller quite neat in the basment

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCary, IL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smaller then my last very quite hope it saves me money to early to tell yet im sure it will
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product lasted only 34 days

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSalem, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Lennox EL296 Gas Furnace was installed January 24, 2014, and 34 days later is not working. So much for the Lennox product. As far as "prompt" service??? It is 24 degrees here, no heat, and no service until sometime later this afternoon. The furnace has been broken since the wee hours of the morning.
What sold me on Lennox: Features
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsMarch 3, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your gas furnace issues. We hope that your issue is resolved soon, but if you would like for us to review this further, please email us at consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com with the model/serial number of your unit and your dealer's contact information. Thank you!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

one small part

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromnw iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good furnace except for the flame probe. I wish we could get a year out of one, and they are hard to replace. If you have a poor product at least make it easy to replace .
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byyk2c
onJanuary 24, 2014
A technicians experience with this is that there is potentially an issue with your venting that the cold air keeps coming down your vent pipe and cracking the Hot surface igniter.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats the house in minutes

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our old furnace stopped working at just the right time of year--before we really needed it! This new one is quiet and heats the house up in minutes. I hardly notice that it is on. I can't wait to see how it performs this winter.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for our home!

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromFishers, IN, USA
Age:Over 65
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 week
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have not had a lot of time with our new furnace this time of year. However, the few days that we had to have the furnace operating we find it quieter than our old and seems to be more efficient with the cycle on & off, maintaining the proper room temperature as programmed with the digital thermostat, as well as the dust collection with our special electronic filter system.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Furnace

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDelta, BC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
This furnace replaced my 38 year old low efficiency furnace.
It is much quieter and I am very happy with the installation that was done.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromEstes Park, Co
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased this furnace recently and am very pleased with it so far. It is quiet and efficient. The integrated WiFi thermostat makes it easy to operate, and will even notify me if there are problems. I can also adjust the settings remotely if away from the home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Furnace

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBellevue, NE, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best and quietest furnace I have ever experienced. Performance is outstanding.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and efficient

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMilwaukee, WI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a change from my loud oil furnace! I have been very impressed with the noise reduction and the increased air flow.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cost of operation and price

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCresco, IA 52136, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We chose the EL296E because the features and cost of the furnace compared to the competitors furnace, it was just a no brainer.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerfull

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still summertime so review is limited but testing showed good airflow and i am looking forward to the winter.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product great price

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromGrayslake, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We completely replaced our old system with a new Lennox furnace and air system. We have only had the chance to use the air part this year so far, but the system is extreamly quiet and very efficient. My wife has severe allergies and we have the system on 24/7. We have already noticed the energy savings after just one utility bill!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromWestern PA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 week
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just had this furnace installed. I'm not an easy guy to please (just ask my wife and past contractors), but this furnace so far has exceeded my expectations in regards to noise and operation. Now let's see if my gas and electric bills go down.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
FromKenosha,WI, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love my new furnace. It is quiet and works wonderfully. My house maintains temperature well.
I can't get over how small the unit is. Wow! Thanks!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
FromDelaware
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We needed a new furnace to replace a 14 year old builder's grade unit. We're very happy with the new Lennox unit. Runs very quietly and the blowers are stronger than the old unit. Keeps the house evenly heated.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet & efficient

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
FromZelienople, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't even hear the furnace running! When I walked into the basement, I questioned if it was on because it has such a quiet operation
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHartford, WI, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had my furnace in my house for a month now and so far I am completely satisfied. It is quiet and keeps me very warm and happy.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPort Coquitlam
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product has good features, and is quiet, however quite noisy from outside the house and very expensive
What sold me on Lennox: ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet, quiet, quiet and efficient

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMono, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 week
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did I mention quiet. We've only had the new furnace for a week, but we love how quiet it is. We no longer have to turn up the volume on the TV when the blower kicks on as with our older oil furnace. Also, we've noticed a difference with heat distribution through the entire house. Haven't gotten our first gas bill yet, so I can't comment on the savings.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bybijoune
onOctober 1, 2014
I agree, I have also been saving on cost for batteries on my remote :)
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 next>>