Customer reviews for Lennox Residential EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Lennox Residential EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Two-stage furnace with Power Saver™ technology
Overall rating:
4.677 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
60 out of 65(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Review 1 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New Furnace, So Far So good

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromRochester Hills, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchase this EL296E unit because my old 12 yr old furnace was getting unreliable. The new furnace is quiet, I can barely notice it is running. Also the 2 stage heating seems to make the temperature more stable.
I also considered the EL296V and EL195E, but I wanted a 2 stage furnace, and I am not convinced that the variable speed motor on the 296V is worth the difference. If you want the wireless thermostat that can be controlled anywhere, you'll need the 296V, the 296E does not support it.
No issue with the new furnace yet, I don't expect any until the unit gets much, much older.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I can't stand the noise!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBrick, NJ, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
I had this installed in the summer and hated the blower noise when AC was running. I was shocked when heating season began with the addition of the "siren like" noise from the motor that sucks in air for combustion. The noise is beyond annoying - it wakes me at night, and can be heard outside in my driveway. This unit also cycles on and off with a routine of other assorted noises that are bothersome but the blower is loud to me and the intake blower is unbearable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smaller quite neat in the basment

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCary, IL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smaller then my last very quite hope it saves me money to early to tell yet im sure it will
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product lasted only 34 days

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSalem, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Lennox EL296 Gas Furnace was installed January 24, 2014, and 34 days later is not working. So much for the Lennox product. As far as "prompt" service??? It is 24 degrees here, no heat, and no service until sometime later this afternoon. The furnace has been broken since the wee hours of the morning.
What sold me on Lennox: Features
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsMarch 3, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your gas furnace issues. We hope that your issue is resolved soon, but if you would like for us to review this further, please email us at consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com with the model/serial number of your unit and your dealer's contact information. Thank you!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

one small part

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromnw iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good furnace except for the flame probe. I wish we could get a year out of one, and they are hard to replace. If you have a poor product at least make it easy to replace .
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byyk2c
onJanuary 24, 2014
A technicians experience with this is that there is potentially an issue with your venting that the cold air keeps coming down your vent pipe and cracking the Hot surface igniter.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I purchased this furnace

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
FromSaint Louis, MO, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like that this is energy efficient. It is quieter than my old furnace
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Furnace!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
FromLockport, NY 14094, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This furnace was a wonderful upgrade for us. It is energy efficient, doesn't rumble like the old unit, and moves air evenly throughout the house, we got rid of our space heaters because there was no use for them anymore. Wonderful furnace that will last a long time and between the rebate, discount for paying cash, and energy it saves its a no-brainer for us : )
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm very pleased with this product!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
FromRegina, SK, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Although I only replaced my furnace mid December in the cold, wintery Saskatchewan weather, I must say I am relieved I purchased my Lennox 296V. I always leave my thermostat set at 20 now, the house is evenly heated. I'm impressed with how quiet it is. My old one used to make such a boom when it cut in. I have noticed my gas bills have dropped already. Yes I'd highly recommend this product. The Lennox reputation is what sold me on it! Thanks.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Furnace works fine, but it's too noisy.

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
FromFort Wayne, IN, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EL296DF didn't come up on the list, so it may be a discontinued model of the EL296. The furnace works fine, but makes more noise than my old furnace. Disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
FromLewis Center, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have had our new Lennox furnace for two months now. The performance has been outstanding. For example, we used to have to set our thermostat at 72 in order to be comfortable. With the new Lennox, it is set at 69 and we are as warm as toast.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a difference a new furnace makes.

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
FromWest Chicago, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:6 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow, I should have done this years ago. I kept waiting for my old furnace to just quit. It never did. Finally just pulled the trigger and made the change. This new furnace rocks. It is quiet and boy does it warm up the house. I don't have to wear sweatshirts and wool socks around the house anymore. Plus, I don't even turn this one down at night. I keep the house at the same temp 24/7. Believe it or not, my gas bill went down. Can't wait for next summer to crank up the new A/C
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great furnace

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
FromGrande Prairie, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Heats our house evenly every time. Replaced our old furnace with this.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet with consistent heat

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
FromMichigan
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Have only had this furnace for a little over a month.
However, it's been in the minus degrees here in Michigan. A very cold month. This furnace is quiet and
and gives consistent temperature control. Still waiting for
utility bills to see how efficient it is.
What sold me on Lennox: Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality, cost efficient product

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
FromHowell, MI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
This furnace runs efficiently,quietly, and keeps the environment comfortable. The iComfort thermostat is a wonderful addition that assists with keeping the furnace running efficiently and our home feeling comfortable. Our atmosphere is cleaner, less dust, due to a quality filter and humidifier. Lennox makes a quality product and is worth the investment for your family and home.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product Features

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
FromPlainfield, IL, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Elite Series EL296V was a pleasant surprise. We own a quad level and had concerns of the house being different temperatures. The first night we found both the ground level, basement, and a the mid level all were the same temperature. The first month gas bill was also great to see. We used half the gas in January 2014 as we did in 2013 and the average temperature was within one degree. The features are great and do what they say will do.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

try it you will like it

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Fromtaylors
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
we had the furnace installed in november our gas bill has been unreal we figured we might save a few dollars however when we get our bills we cannot believe the saving over the previous furnace
What sold me on Lennox: Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and smart product.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
FromToronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This furnace is very efficient and extremely quiet. We also purchased a fancy 'smart' thermostat which I highly recommend.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The smaller size is a bonus.

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
FromCardston, AB T0K, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
So far so good, has only been installed a month. House is definitely warmer.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch, High Quality, Solid Product

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBarrie, ON, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific product, very well made, high quality piece if equipment. I love the compact size a the small footprint it has. I gained about 8 square feet of floor space.The unit is so quiet, I don't know it's on until the curtains move. Last but not least my air flow has increased about 30% over the old furnace
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very efficient product

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromOklahoma City, OK, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
I didn't realize how ineffective my old heater was -- house is much warmer now and the heater runs much less time. Seems like a win-win to me.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>