Customer reviews for Lennox Residential EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Lennox Residential EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Two-stage furnace with Power Saver™ technology
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
30 out of 33(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Review 1 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New Furnace, So Far So good

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromRochester Hills, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchase this EL296E unit because my old 12 yr old furnace was getting unreliable. The new furnace is quiet, I can barely notice it is running. Also the 2 stage heating seems to make the temperature more stable.
I also considered the EL296V and EL195E, but I wanted a 2 stage furnace, and I am not convinced that the variable speed motor on the 296V is worth the difference. If you want the wireless thermostat that can be controlled anywhere, you'll need the 296V, the 296E does not support it.
No issue with the new furnace yet, I don't expect any until the unit gets much, much older.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smaller quite neat in the basment

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCary, IL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smaller then my last very quite hope it saves me money to early to tell yet im sure it will
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerfull

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still summertime so review is limited but testing showed good airflow and i am looking forward to the winter.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product great price

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromGrayslake, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We completely replaced our old system with a new Lennox furnace and air system. We have only had the chance to use the air part this year so far, but the system is extreamly quiet and very efficient. My wife has severe allergies and we have the system on 24/7. We have already noticed the energy savings after just one utility bill!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromWestern PA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 week
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just had this furnace installed. I'm not an easy guy to please (just ask my wife and past contractors), but this furnace so far has exceeded my expectations in regards to noise and operation. Now let's see if my gas and electric bills go down.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product lasted only 34 days

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSalem, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Lennox EL296 Gas Furnace was installed January 24, 2014, and 34 days later is not working. So much for the Lennox product. As far as "prompt" service??? It is 24 degrees here, no heat, and no service until sometime later this afternoon. The furnace has been broken since the wee hours of the morning.
What sold me on Lennox: Features
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsMarch 3, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your gas furnace issues. We hope that your issue is resolved soon, but if you would like for us to review this further, please email us at consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com with the model/serial number of your unit and your dealer's contact information. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

one small part

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromnw iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good furnace except for the flame probe. I wish we could get a year out of one, and they are hard to replace. If you have a poor product at least make it easy to replace .
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byyk2c
onJanuary 24, 2014
A technicians experience with this is that there is potentially an issue with your venting that the cold air keeps coming down your vent pipe and cracking the Hot surface igniter.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
FromKenosha,WI, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love my new furnace. It is quiet and works wonderfully. My house maintains temperature well.
I can't get over how small the unit is. Wow! Thanks!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
FromDelaware
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We needed a new furnace to replace a 14 year old builder's grade unit. We're very happy with the new Lennox unit. Runs very quietly and the blowers are stronger than the old unit. Keeps the house evenly heated.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet & efficient

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
FromZelienople, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't even hear the furnace running! When I walked into the basement, I questioned if it was on because it has such a quiet operation
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromHartford, WI, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had my furnace in my house for a month now and so far I am completely satisfied. It is quiet and keeps me very warm and happy.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPort Coquitlam
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product has good features, and is quiet, however quite noisy from outside the house and very expensive
What sold me on Lennox: ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet, quiet, quiet and efficient

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMono, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 week
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did I mention quiet. We've only had the new furnace for a week, but we love how quiet it is. We no longer have to turn up the volume on the TV when the blower kicks on as with our older oil furnace. Also, we've noticed a difference with heat distribution through the entire house. Haven't gotten our first gas bill yet, so I can't comment on the savings.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMilwaukee, WI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
great product and service! way better than my previous furnace, but the airs not too hot, but otherwise it's all good!
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WAS RECOMMENDEDN BY SALESMAN.

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSouthampton, PA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALTHOUGH IT'S ONLY BEEN LESS THAN A MONTH SINCE INSTALLATION, WE ARE COMPLETELY SATISFIED. OUR HOME HAS BEEN VERY COMFORTABLE WITH THE HONEYWELL PROGRAMMABLE THERMOSTAT. WE NEVER NEED TO ADJUST IT UNLESS WE WANT TO RAISE OR LOWER THE TEMPERATURE. WHEN WE RECEIVE OUR NEXT UTILITY BILL WE WILL KNOW IF IT IS MORE EFFICIENT.
What sold me on Lennox: Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seamless Upgrade

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSterling Heights, MI
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The upgrade from my 15 + year old furnace to this high efficiency furnace could best be described as seamless. The product and installation are and were both excellent.
Thank you!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater EL296UHV EFFICIENT

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSpringdale, AR, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS HEATER IS A REALLY EFFICIENT HEAT SOURCE FOR MY HOME RUNS SMOOTH AND QUITE AS WELL
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is quiet and very efficient.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
FromCarmel, IN, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
We were told that Lennox is the quietest furnace on the market. It is much quieter than our old furnace; we don't notice furnace noise now.
The two stage blower provides even heat to our rooms whereas our former furnace did not furnish enough heat to rooms most distant from the furnace.
I am sure that we will see a significant reduction is our gas bill because this Lennox furnace is 95% efficient.
We are pleased with this furnace and would not hesitate to recommend a Lennox furnace to others.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Inducer blower is annoying, and low speed does not heat my second floor properly.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMississauga
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
annoying blow dryer sound when furnace turns on, and variable speed blower does not heat my second floor properly.
What sold me on Lennox: ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Quiet One

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMukwonago, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet and I hope extremely efficient. We'll see after a few gas bills come in!
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>