Customer reviews for Lennox Residential EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Lennox Residential EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Two-stage furnace with Power Saver™ technology
Overall rating:
4.62 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
46 out of 50(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Review 1 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New Furnace, So Far So good

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromRochester Hills, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchase this EL296E unit because my old 12 yr old furnace was getting unreliable. The new furnace is quiet, I can barely notice it is running. Also the 2 stage heating seems to make the temperature more stable.
I also considered the EL296V and EL195E, but I wanted a 2 stage furnace, and I am not convinced that the variable speed motor on the 296V is worth the difference. If you want the wireless thermostat that can be controlled anywhere, you'll need the 296V, the 296E does not support it.
No issue with the new furnace yet, I don't expect any until the unit gets much, much older.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I can't stand the noise!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBrick, NJ, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
I had this installed in the summer and hated the blower noise when AC was running. I was shocked when heating season began with the addition of the "siren like" noise from the motor that sucks in air for combustion. The noise is beyond annoying - it wakes me at night, and can be heard outside in my driveway. This unit also cycles on and off with a routine of other assorted noises that are bothersome but the blower is loud to me and the intake blower is unbearable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smaller quite neat in the basment

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCary, IL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smaller then my last very quite hope it saves me money to early to tell yet im sure it will
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product lasted only 34 days

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSalem, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Lennox EL296 Gas Furnace was installed January 24, 2014, and 34 days later is not working. So much for the Lennox product. As far as "prompt" service??? It is 24 degrees here, no heat, and no service until sometime later this afternoon. The furnace has been broken since the wee hours of the morning.
What sold me on Lennox: Features
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsMarch 3, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your gas furnace issues. We hope that your issue is resolved soon, but if you would like for us to review this further, please email us at consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com with the model/serial number of your unit and your dealer's contact information. Thank you!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

one small part

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromnw iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good furnace except for the flame probe. I wish we could get a year out of one, and they are hard to replace. If you have a poor product at least make it easy to replace .
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byyk2c
onJanuary 24, 2014
A technicians experience with this is that there is potentially an issue with your venting that the cold air keeps coming down your vent pipe and cracking the Hot surface igniter.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
FromWhite Bear Lake, MN, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This furnace is so quiet and efficient! I am counting the dollars saved all ready from our old oil furnace.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
FromKaukauna, WI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Considering we were replacing a 27 year old Lennox furnace, we had no hesitation with our decision to purchase a new Lennox. The furnace is so quiet, we barely notice it running. So far, it is doing a great job keeping us warm and toasty. Great quality furnace.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMinneapolis, MN, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent unit very quiet. The continuous operstion of the fan is exteremly quiet and low speed to constantly move the air. Very Happy
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This furnace maintains an even temperature which makes our home very comfortable.

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAbbotsford, BC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Three zones were installed in our system, and I like being able to heat the upstairs without heating the whole house.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet Comfort

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromIowa, USA
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A quiet unit that heats our home efficiently.
Expect our heating bills to improve
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This furnace is very efficient

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBarrie, ON, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Furnace has excellent efficiency of 96%, two stage gas valve provides additional gas savings.
Power Saver motor reduces use of electricity.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBinghamton, NY, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
my Lenex is a great furnace I have nothing bad to say about it the energy efficiency is high and is so quite
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is quietest furnace I have had in my home.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
FromEvansville, IN, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very quiet and deliver a very comfortable even heat.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product offers high efficiency

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We chose this furnace because of the Energy Star qualification. Our home is warmer with this new system. Even though we have not received a heating bill yet, we are looking forward to the savings.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heats the house in minutes

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromColumbus, OH, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our old furnace stopped working at just the right time of year--before we really needed it! This new one is quiet and heats the house up in minutes. I hardly notice that it is on. I can't wait to see how it performs this winter.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for our home!

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromFishers, IN, USA
Age:Over 65
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 week
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have not had a lot of time with our new furnace this time of year. However, the few days that we had to have the furnace operating we find it quieter than our old and seems to be more efficient with the cycle on & off, maintaining the proper room temperature as programmed with the digital thermostat, as well as the dust collection with our special electronic filter system.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Furnace

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDelta, BC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
This furnace replaced my 38 year old low efficiency furnace.
It is much quieter and I am very happy with the installation that was done.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromEstes Park, Co
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased this furnace recently and am very pleased with it so far. It is quiet and efficient. The integrated WiFi thermostat makes it easy to operate, and will even notify me if there are problems. I can also adjust the settings remotely if away from the home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Furnace

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBellevue, NE, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best and quietest furnace I have ever experienced. Performance is outstanding.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EL296E High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and efficient

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMilwaukee, WI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a change from my loud oil furnace! I have been very impressed with the noise reduction and the increased air flow.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>