Customer reviews for Lennox Residential EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

Lennox Residential EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace

High-efficiency, variable speed gas furnace
Overall rating:
4.737 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(228 reviews) 228
220 out of 227(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Review 1 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

two stage furnace

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPa.
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
the new furnace provides quiet operation along with the dependabilityanyone would expect. I would recomend this product to my best friend and family
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent furnace - very quiet

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
FromChicago, IL, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have only had the furnace for 5 months but so far it has proven to be a n excellent product. Using either A/C or heat, the variable speed blower is very quiet and has enough power to do the job. We live in a ranch so I cannot speak to multi-level heating and cooling. I really like the humidity control of the furnace. In the summer time if the house is very humid, the blower will run a little slower to give the furnace the time to extract the moisture from the air. Then it will speed up if necessary to complete the cooling cycle. In the winter, if the furnace cannot achieve the requested humidity level with the normal heating cycle, the blower will continue to run at a very low speed. Just enough to continue to cycle more humidified air through the house. We had -15 degree air temp. just recently and the furnace performed just fine. All in all it is a very nice furnace.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for cold weather

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
FromEdmonton, AB, Canada
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Sold on energy efficiency. In less than 2 years my second pressure pump has burnt out leaving us without heat, first time told it was a faulty pump, this time I'd call it a faulty furnace. Part is covered but not the service call if you can believe it. Would highly recommend a different brand if you enjoy heat in the winter!
What sold me on Lennox: ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsDecember 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your repeated issues with your heat pump. We do offer different warranty packages, one of which covers both parts and labor, so please be sure and talk with your Lennox dealer about that. If you want to talk to us further about your product-related issue, please email us at consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com and we'd be happy to look into your situation further.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pleased with the unit

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMaple, Vaughan, ON L6A, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pleased with the unit very quite. The existing furnace was a lennox - mid eff.- was in service for 20 year. It was time to upgrade to a high eff. furnace - also hope to get 20 years of use.
What sold me on Lennox: Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Consistent Heat and Quiet

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBancroft, ON K0L, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This furnace has made a HUGE difference in the consistency of temperature within our home. No more cold rooms. Use continuous low speed fan to circulate heat evenly. Very glad we stepped up to the two stage furnace with ECM fan. This furnace is very quiet and cannot even tell it's running when continuous low speed fan is on. Highly recommend.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lennox is number 1 to buy.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
FromToronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The men who put the furnance done a excellent job .Plus my heating and hydro bills are down .Also lennox value for are money.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
FromCenterville, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this furnace as a replacement for my old Lennox Pulse furnace. The variable speed fan is so quiet it can barely be heard. The overall furnace is so much quieter than the old Pulse. I leave the blower on 24/7 and have noticed much more equal temperatures throughout my house. The energy efficiency bundled with the discounts and rebates made the decision to upgrade to this furnace a no-brainer.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New furnace purchase

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FromNaperville IL
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1/3 rd the footprint compared to our previous furnace, very quiet, and look to save money on the utility bills.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal balance of value and efficiency

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
FromNebraska, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice compared with it's competitors. It was apparent that I had made the right choice after receiving 3 other bids.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product .

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMichigan
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Our new Lennox high efficiency furnace has surpassed our expectations. Our home feels much more comfortable with the consistent same temperature verses our previous furnace that would come blasting on after the house was already noticeably cold . We also love the icomfort thermostat . I love that you can wake up walk by it and check the outdoor temperature for the entire day and week. High quality products.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is much quieter when running and is very efficient.

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMaquoketa, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Furance runs much quieter and the efficency is very good as well. It takes up less space too!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Furnace but..............

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBattle Creek, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So far this has been a good furnace but is noisy. My old beat-up furnace was quieter for some reason. Hope with further break-in things will change.
What sold me on Lennox: Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the features on this furance are out standing

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Fromashville oh
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i purchase my first lennox furance 31 years ago it was a top of the line for this era this furance is a great improvement
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good.

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromVancouver, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did some online reviewing and comparing prior to purchase and am satisfied with the product so far. It has been installed for about a month and a half and on our first gas billed noticed a 25% savings right out of the chute (the previous furnace would have been between 40 & 75% efficient). Would purchase again and recommend to others.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

warm & quiet

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMinnesota
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Still a new unit and so far we are very satisfied with the purchase.
What sold me on Lennox: Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiny but powerful

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromNewark, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When they were installing it, I was thinking this is never going to work, but once they turned it on, WOW, quiet and warmed the house fast. Have not had it long enough to see how much the gas bill goes down, but I have no doubt it will.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased so far

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromRaleigh, NC
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have had this unit in our house for approximately one month, and are very pleased so far.
The heat within the house is much more uniform and the unit is quieter than our old (20-yr) Pulse furnace was.
We have not seen our fist gas bill to see what sort of savings we are seeing (frankly, we don't expect a huge savings, but every bit helps) and of course we will have to see how the long-term reliability of the system holds up.
So far, so good.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clean, quiet, efficient box with simple service/maintenance access

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMaple Ridge, BC, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We wanted to replace an "80%" unit that was about 18 yrs old with something more efficient to work with a new heat pump (XP17N) and not "break the bank" in the process. This machine ROCKS! extremely quiet,
heats quickly and quietly..the two stage variable speed system is a delight. User Maintenance info is excellent and service/maintenance access could not be easier. If we didn't want the AC cooling for a few days in summer I think this would have done the trick on it's own. Lennox has really created a standard with this design. For our house (3000 sqft) this 70 model is nicely adequate . It is SO quiet..when testing I shut off
the heat pump and we could hardly believe that this furnace had just raised house temperature 4 degrees in about 15 minutes and been so quiet we weren't even sure if it was on or off without looking. GOOD STUFF!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byHaroldMD
onFebruary 24, 2014
DId you consider an air conditioner rather than a heat pump? I assume the heat pump costs more than a comparable A/C unit and I expect it won't last as long. Having said that, do you think you are saving considerably more on your utility bills by using the heat pump until the outside temp drops to 40 degrees or so?
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBarrie, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had this furnace installed a month ago and very happy. Noticed a difference all ready. Doesn't kick on as much as my old furnace. Also very quiet. Did a lot of research and this was the best product (based on cost and features)
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EL296V High-Efficiency, Two-Stage Gas Furnace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The furnace is so quiet and compact.

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
FromNatrona Heights, PA
Age:45 to 54
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The furnace was installed properly and efficently. We are so happy with the way the furnace heats our home.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>