Customer reviews for Lennox Residential XP16 Heat Pump

Lennox Residential XP16 Heat Pump

High-efficiency, two-stage comfort
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
54 out of 57(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for XP16 Heat Pump
Review 1 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely quiet and powerful.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
FromGreenville, SC, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a gorgeous machine, it is so quiet and powerful. We have two, 2-tonn units.
We love the two speed compressor and the variable speed air blower. I think they will last 20 years and I will enjoy them the entire time, mostly because I can't hear them running. We have two outdoor units, just a meter or so apart and you just don't hear them. We love to relax on the back porch (after all I still enjoy the outdoors as well as a cool-dry house) and the two XP-16 compressors are just about 20 feet away from the porch, down the house along the rear wall of the house. We sit out there and rock on our large swing-bench and don't even notice the a/c sounds. I love the new programmable thermostats and I am able to program the upstairs sleeping quarters very differently than our downstairs living spaces. We have a Cape Cod style house with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths upstairs. Downstairs our house consists of the Kitchen, Breakfast room, Great-Room, Laundry, 1/2 bath, dry-stores pantry, and a large dining room that we have converted into an office. Thus you can see the living situation is very different upstairs verses downstairs and we program the 5-time zone thermostats very differently to match our lives. Super easy to control and very intuitive to adjust. Full flexibility for every day of the week, with 5 periods per day. We love the "Lennox" units!
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is very efficient

PostedAugust 8, 2015
Customer avatar
FromMt. Airy, MD 21771
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The service, professionalism and quality of this product are top drawer!
What sold me on Lennox: Features, Warranty, Value, ENERGY STAR® Qualified, Tax Credits
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet Comfort

PostedAugust 8, 2015
Customer avatar
FromSpringfield, VA, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice to have a new unit that is parked right outside my bedroom window and I can hardly hear. Beefy unit, but looks good. We'll see what kind of efficiency improvements I reap over the remaining summer months. True test of this heat pump will come this Winter.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product with great features.

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer avatar
FromGreer, SC, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
had this product installed when old unit went out. The two stage feature is wonderful and utility bills have decreased substantially. Would highly recommend.
What sold me on Lennox: Features, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very very happy

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer avatar
FromGainesville, Fl
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been very happy with our new unit in every possible way.
What sold me on Lennox: Value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the two stage feature

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer avatar
FromLaurel, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After one month, I'm very pleased with my new heat pump. This is the first time I've had a two stage heat pump. One the lower stage, I can't even hear it running. I also love the new wifi thermostat. I don't plan to go to the other side of the world, but if I did, I could manage the temperature in my house.
What sold me on Lennox: Features, Warranty, Value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I've seen so far

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Customer avatar
FromFlorida, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this system to be the best I've ever seen. It was a replacement system for my 21 year old Lennox, but wit many, many more features. I'll never own anything else.
What sold me on Lennox: Features, Warranty, Value, ENERGY STAR® Qualified, Tax Credits, Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features.

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer avatar
FromMD
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
This product is quiet and regulates the temperature in our home very efficiently. Looking forward to the benefits of lower energy bills.
What sold me on Lennox: Warranty, Value, ENERGY STAR® Qualified, Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and efficient on low speed!

PostedJune 19, 2015
Customer avatar
FromMoncks Corner, SC 29461, USA
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
So far we have been very pleased with the performance of this new unit. We have had a week of unusually early 100 degree weather and it has kept the house very comfortable. The low speed on the compressor and air handler are very quiet. It has had to kick in high gear in the afternoons but it has always kept the house at temperature. I hope I can keep the 5 stars when our next electric bill comes in, showing the first full month of use.
What sold me on Lennox: ENERGY STAR® Qualified, Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the investment

PostedMay 8, 2015
Customer avatar
FromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's extremely quiet. It was more than I was willing to pay at first but getting this particular two stage unit has paid off already. My first electric bill after the unit was installed went down almost $60 dollars. I'm looking forward to another hot Florida summer!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So quiet and so efficient

PostedMay 8, 2015
Customer avatar
FromFlorida, USA
Age:55-65
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
I love my new heat pump. In the first month, my electric bill was reduced dramatically. The unit is quiet, my home is comfortable, and overall, I am very pleased with the product.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent unit

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
FromHickory, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are very happy with the new heat pump. It quietly keeps the house at an even temperature. Our older heat pump caused the air ducts to pop and creak when the blower started. This one slowly builds up speed and eliminated the noise.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
FromSummerville, SC, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs quiet, has no problem keeping up with our heating and cooling needs. Love this unit.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Compressor

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDahlonega, GA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
The compressor was so noisy that it had to be replaced less than 2 years after it was put in service.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsDecember 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your XP16 Heat Pump. We understand your frustration and would like to look into your situation further. Please email consumeraffairssocial@gmail.com with your contact information, serial/model number of your heat pump, dealer contact information and reference to this review and a member of our team will reach out to you directly.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bysissy
onDecember 31, 2014
I am having the same problem Last night every time it powered down it screeched and thudded.Kept us awake most of the night .We have 2x6 stud walls also and to hear the outside unit like that all the way inside was not pleasant
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fl pump replacement

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
FromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect choice for a two stage system replacement!!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Too early to be certain, but looks good.

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromManassas, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No known post installation problems have been detected.
Would consider a year's satisfactory operation sufficient to post a "certain" opinion - nonetheless, looks good so far (after 2 weeks).
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with this product

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPalm Harbor, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had owned a Lennox pulse furnace in our home in PA and wanted another Lennox product when we moved to FL.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is quiet and powerful

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
FromFairview, NC 28730, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The heat pump is the basis for a zoned (two story) system. It works great and is quieter than our old unit. I look forward to many years of service.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unit is efficient and quiet

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSt. Augustine, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This unit has a 2 stage operational mode for efficiency and provides both AC & Heating functions. It is a quiet operating system and we are very pleased with the unit.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't even hear it running!

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
FromEunice, LA 70535, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had the old style, one speed units before so, I am very impressed with how quiet this thing is inside and out. It cools the house very well but I haven't tested the heat pump yet.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>