Customer reviews for Lennox Residential XP16 Heat Pump

Lennox Residential XP16 Heat Pump

High-efficiency, two-stage comfort
Overall rating:
4.489 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
42 out of 45(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for XP16 Heat Pump
Review 1 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely quiet and powerful.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
FromGreenville, SC, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a gorgeous machine, it is so quiet and powerful. We have two, 2-tonn units.
We love the two speed compressor and the variable speed air blower. I think they will last 20 years and I will enjoy them the entire time, mostly because I can't hear them running. We have two outdoor units, just a meter or so apart and you just don't hear them. We love to relax on the back porch (after all I still enjoy the outdoors as well as a cool-dry house) and the two XP-16 compressors are just about 20 feet away from the porch, down the house along the rear wall of the house. We sit out there and rock on our large swing-bench and don't even notice the a/c sounds. I love the new programmable thermostats and I am able to program the upstairs sleeping quarters very differently than our downstairs living spaces. We have a Cape Cod style house with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths upstairs. Downstairs our house consists of the Kitchen, Breakfast room, Great-Room, Laundry, 1/2 bath, dry-stores pantry, and a large dining room that we have converted into an office. Thus you can see the living situation is very different upstairs verses downstairs and we program the 5-time zone thermostats very differently to match our lives. Super easy to control and very intuitive to adjust. Full flexibility for every day of the week, with 5 periods per day. We love the "Lennox" units!
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Compressor

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDahlonega, GA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
The compressor was so noisy that it had to be replaced less than 2 years after it was put in service.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsDecember 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your XP16 Heat Pump. We understand your frustration and would like to look into your situation further. Please email consumeraffairssocial@gmail.com with your contact information, serial/model number of your heat pump, dealer contact information and reference to this review and a member of our team will reach out to you directly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fl pump replacement

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
FromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect choice for a two stage system replacement!!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Too early to be certain, but looks good.

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromManassas, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No known post installation problems have been detected.
Would consider a year's satisfactory operation sufficient to post a "certain" opinion - nonetheless, looks good so far (after 2 weeks).
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with this product

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPalm Harbor, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had owned a Lennox pulse furnace in our home in PA and wanted another Lennox product when we moved to FL.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is quiet and powerful

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
FromFairview, NC 28730, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The heat pump is the basis for a zoned (two story) system. It works great and is quieter than our old unit. I look forward to many years of service.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unit is efficient and quiet

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSt. Augustine, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This unit has a 2 stage operational mode for efficiency and provides both AC & Heating functions. It is a quiet operating system and we are very pleased with the unit.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't even hear it running!

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
FromEunice, LA 70535, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had the old style, one speed units before so, I am very impressed with how quiet this thing is inside and out. It cools the house very well but I haven't tested the heat pump yet.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my heat pump!

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPine City, MN 55063, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:New home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This thing is amazing! The heat pump work very well. It keeps the house just the right temperature and it is quiet!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good unit

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The unit I purchased is performing to my expectations.
I did think the price was a bit high but a purchased the product due to the good reputation of Lennox.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We are very happy with the performance of this unit.

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
FromGurnee, IL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:6 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This heap pump replaced a water source heat pump and has exceeded our expectations in regards to energy consumption.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps keep 4-level split house comfortable

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromIowa
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No complaints so far with this heat pump; we've not had it through a cold Iowa winter (we have a backup lp furnace for supplemental heating), so hopefully it will work well all year round.
Unit isn't too loud and seems to work well!
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome, efficient

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSt. Augustine, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very sturdy and efficient. Great in the Florida heat.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works great!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
FromWaco, TX, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are very pleased with this unit. After installation the servicemen took a few minutes to show us what we needed to know. It is easy to understand and easy to set to our needs. This unit cools our home and with the programmable thermostat, we rarely even have to look at the controls to know that it is working the way we want it. Our sales person knew this product and knew it would do exctly what we were needing!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Less electricity

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNewborn, GA 30056, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too soon to tell but I'm sure it will use less electricity
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great HVAC units questionable wifi thermostats

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
FromArlington, TX, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
In Dec 2012, I had 2-Lennox HVAC systems installed for each side of my home. This included 2-XP16 (2-stage Heat Pumps and 2-CBX32MV variable speed air handlers. So far, the units are quiet and perform efficiently. The problem was that I ordered 2-Icomfort 5000 wi-fi thermostats to control each system. These are beautiful thermostats, functional and easy to operate and to access over the internet. The problem is their reliability! After only 7 mos of use, one of the thermostats stopped working. I just turned 14mos on both systems and now the second thermostat to the other HVAC unit has stopped working? When this happens, you lose access to heat or cooling. I have other devices in home which use wi-fi without issue or device failure. I would like to work with Lennox to determine any defects because I believe in Lennox. In the immediate however, I’m online trying to find a more dependable set thermostats. This is too close in to the purchase of these expensive thermostats to be experiencing these issues. I recommend the HVAC units but find it difficult to recommend the Lennox Wi-Fi thermostats.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMiddletown, PA 17057, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
We have only had this unit about 4 months. The outside unit was never coming on and unfortunately we never new that until the electric bills arrived. We assumed the unit was as quite as all the reviews had said which was one of our reasons for buying it. It has not lived up to our expectations. This is our third heat pump and the only brand we ever had to place a call for service and it is basically brand new.
What sold me on Lennox: Features
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does its job well

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPA.
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling and humidity control are outstanding. Heat is efficient. It is quite quiet except at the end of a heat cycle. We have had it for 15 months.It has exceeded our expectations for two summers and a NE winter.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very quiet efficient machine

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After four months, and in the middle of summer, we have not had to turn on one of our three units because the new Lennox keeps the lower level cool .
What sold me on Lennox: ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heat Pump

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
FromChillicothe, MO
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced our old Lennox heat pump in January 2013, old one was 25 years old. Electric bill was cut in half!! Unit is quiet and the thermostate switches from heat pump to electric resistance heat to air conditioning automatically. Best choice we have made. No problems so far, quaity instalation makes the difference. Great product.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>