Customer reviews for Lennox Residential XP16 Heat Pump

Lennox Residential XP16 Heat Pump

High-efficiency, two-stage comfort
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
38 out of 40(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for XP16 Heat Pump
Review 1 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely quiet and powerful.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
FromGreenville, SC, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a gorgeous machine, it is so quiet and powerful. We have two, 2-tonn units.
We love the two speed compressor and the variable speed air blower. I think they will last 20 years and I will enjoy them the entire time, mostly because I can't hear them running. We have two outdoor units, just a meter or so apart and you just don't hear them. We love to relax on the back porch (after all I still enjoy the outdoors as well as a cool-dry house) and the two XP-16 compressors are just about 20 feet away from the porch, down the house along the rear wall of the house. We sit out there and rock on our large swing-bench and don't even notice the a/c sounds. I love the new programmable thermostats and I am able to program the upstairs sleeping quarters very differently than our downstairs living spaces. We have a Cape Cod style house with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths upstairs. Downstairs our house consists of the Kitchen, Breakfast room, Great-Room, Laundry, 1/2 bath, dry-stores pantry, and a large dining room that we have converted into an office. Thus you can see the living situation is very different upstairs verses downstairs and we program the 5-time zone thermostats very differently to match our lives. Super easy to control and very intuitive to adjust. Full flexibility for every day of the week, with 5 periods per day. We love the "Lennox" units!
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unit is efficient and quiet

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSt. Augustine, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This unit has a 2 stage operational mode for efficiency and provides both AC & Heating functions. It is a quiet operating system and we are very pleased with the unit.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't even hear it running!

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
FromEunice, LA 70535, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had the old style, one speed units before so, I am very impressed with how quiet this thing is inside and out. It cools the house very well but I haven't tested the heat pump yet.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my heat pump!

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPine City, MN 55063, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:New home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This thing is amazing! The heat pump work very well. It keeps the house just the right temperature and it is quiet!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good unit

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The unit I purchased is performing to my expectations.
I did think the price was a bit high but a purchased the product due to the good reputation of Lennox.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We are very happy with the performance of this unit.

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
FromGurnee, IL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:6 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This heap pump replaced a water source heat pump and has exceeded our expectations in regards to energy consumption.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps keep 4-level split house comfortable

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromIowa
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No complaints so far with this heat pump; we've not had it through a cold Iowa winter (we have a backup lp furnace for supplemental heating), so hopefully it will work well all year round.
Unit isn't too loud and seems to work well!
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome, efficient

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
FromSt. Augustine, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very sturdy and efficient. Great in the Florida heat.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works great!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
FromWaco, TX, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are very pleased with this unit. After installation the servicemen took a few minutes to show us what we needed to know. It is easy to understand and easy to set to our needs. This unit cools our home and with the programmable thermostat, we rarely even have to look at the controls to know that it is working the way we want it. Our sales person knew this product and knew it would do exctly what we were needing!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Less electricity

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNewborn, GA 30056, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too soon to tell but I'm sure it will use less electricity
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great HVAC units questionable wifi thermostats

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
FromArlington, TX, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
In Dec 2012, I had 2-Lennox HVAC systems installed for each side of my home. This included 2-XP16 (2-stage Heat Pumps and 2-CBX32MV variable speed air handlers. So far, the units are quiet and perform efficiently. The problem was that I ordered 2-Icomfort 5000 wi-fi thermostats to control each system. These are beautiful thermostats, functional and easy to operate and to access over the internet. The problem is their reliability! After only 7 mos of use, one of the thermostats stopped working. I just turned 14mos on both systems and now the second thermostat to the other HVAC unit has stopped working? When this happens, you lose access to heat or cooling. I have other devices in home which use wi-fi without issue or device failure. I would like to work with Lennox to determine any defects because I believe in Lennox. In the immediate however, I’m online trying to find a more dependable set thermostats. This is too close in to the purchase of these expensive thermostats to be experiencing these issues. I recommend the HVAC units but find it difficult to recommend the Lennox Wi-Fi thermostats.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMiddletown, PA 17057, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
We have only had this unit about 4 months. The outside unit was never coming on and unfortunately we never new that until the electric bills arrived. We assumed the unit was as quite as all the reviews had said which was one of our reasons for buying it. It has not lived up to our expectations. This is our third heat pump and the only brand we ever had to place a call for service and it is basically brand new.
What sold me on Lennox: Features
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does its job well

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPA.
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling and humidity control are outstanding. Heat is efficient. It is quite quiet except at the end of a heat cycle. We have had it for 15 months.It has exceeded our expectations for two summers and a NE winter.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very quiet efficient machine

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After four months, and in the middle of summer, we have not had to turn on one of our three units because the new Lennox keeps the lower level cool .
What sold me on Lennox: ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heat Pump

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
FromChillicothe, MO
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced our old Lennox heat pump in January 2013, old one was 25 years old. Electric bill was cut in half!! Unit is quiet and the thermostate switches from heat pump to electric resistance heat to air conditioning automatically. Best choice we have made. No problems so far, quaity instalation makes the difference. Great product.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good--very quiet and efficient.

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
FromPhoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We've had this unit for about two months. It is a huge improvement over the twenty year old unit it replaced. Much, much, quieter, and much more efficient with the two-stage feature. I'll write another review in August, after temperatures here in Phoenix have been 110+ for a couple of months...
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byShadetreeAZ
onFebruary 5, 2014
Hey Bob, How is your xp16 treating you? I also live in Arizona and am seriously looking at the xp16 or xp21. Are you still happy with your unit and how did it do during last years summer heat? Thank you.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet, efficient

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSpringfield, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Impressed by the quiet, efficient operation. Thermostat seems quite responsive.
What sold me on Lennox: Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bysissy77
onMay 2, 2014
I am looking at a 4 ton with an xp16 and indoor unit the cbx32mv for my house to replace 10 year old system and wondering since you live in VA also how is your unit still working and is it quiet yet.I was looking more for the heat side than cooling since we do not like our house that cool in the summer
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features.

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBerlin, MD 21811 USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
I wish we knew about heat pumps before winter started, the installation of this product reduced my gas bill immensely. The only concern I have is I wish the product was quiter when it runs.
I would greatly recommend to anyone who heats their home with propane gas to install a Lennox heat pump because it drastically reduces your monthly heating bills.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful energy efficient

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
FromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
I have had this product for only 1+ months and already my electric bill has gone down. It heats quickly and keeps the humidity at an even level.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bylemonpump
onDecember 19, 2013
I purchased a Lennox Elite residential heat pump.
The unit is 3 years old and I have put more repairs then I can ever think of saving. I certainly would not recommend it. As I am writing this, the repairman is working on the unit with another hefty bill. In my opinion, I have a lemon.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for XP16 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the programmable thermostat

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
FromCollege Station, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replaced complete system. New internal unit has more powerful fan, so air flowing from vents is more noticeable and louder. Outside units is about as quiet as our old unit (which we were aware of). Really love the programmable thermostat. Easy to program with setups for work week and weekends or you can program every day. We replaced a Lennox with a Lennox. Our old unit was 15-years-old and on its last legs. Our A/C and heat bills have always been low. Hopeful the new system will be the same.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>