Customer reviews for Lennox Residential XP17 Heat Pump

Lennox Residential XP17 Heat Pump

The most efficient and quietest single-stage heat pump you can buy
Overall rating:
4.549 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
71 out of 81(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for XP17 Heat Pump
Review 1 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quietness

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer avatar
FromFederal Way, WA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had my heat pump installed in my back yard one bedroom away from my master bedroom, can't hear a thing from it :) My new furnace is also fantastic! It doesn't kick on as much as my old one and the heat actually stays in my home.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent machine

PostedApril 1, 2015
Customer avatar
FromHilton Head Island, SC, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is quiet and way more efficient than the one it replaced. Our heating bills have also decreased since we had it installed.
No down side that we know of.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The worst heating option possible

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer avatar
FromStoney Creek, Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This unit has been nothing but trouble since purchased. Compressor, TX valve twice, recharged 3 times in 3 years.
And now it has stopped working again.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsMarch 24, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your XP17 heat pump. We understand your frustration with multiple repairs to your unit and we would like to see how we can help. Please email consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com with your contact information, dealer contact information, model/serial number and reference to this review and a member of our team will reach out to you directly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Satisfied at first

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
FromMartinsville, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:New home purchase
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been pleased with my heating and cooling bills so far. Unit has always been very noisy - especially during the defrost cycle. Loud braking sound when it goes into the cycle. Got the ice build up fixed with a recall last year. Outside unit is down right now during zero degree weather. Unit is less than 3 years old so some disappointment in break downs.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

solar ready

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
FromMontreal, QC, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:6 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i like to have posibility to add solar panel for more saving.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ice build up

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
FromFort Lee, NJ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
I bought the xp 17 heat pump this past october and I had
ice issues from the very beginning. Anytime it rained or snowed...ice would build up on the casing and blades of the unit. It sounded like a diesel engine idling. I had it swapped out last week for another unit.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Heat pump goes into defrost mode too often and blows cold air during defrost cycle.

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
FromRichmond, VA, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had this system, air handler/heat pump, installed 11-20-2012. We are pleased with the air handler so far. Our complaint is with the defroster on the heat pump and the fact that the unit has to run almost all night to maintain 70 degrees even if it isn't freezing cold outside. When unit goes into defrost mode, which it does constantly, it blows cold air no matter what temp is outside. The temp doesn't have to be freezing, rainy or cloudy to defrost. It can be sunny and bright with temp above freezing and unit will go into defrost mode. Since installation the following has been done:
2/5/13 fan speed increased on heat cycle; 2/11/13 all settings reset to original; 2/19/13 fan shroud kit ordered, was installed at a later date but has since been removed; 2/24/14 control board replaced; 10/10/14 orfice ring was replaced; 11/19/14 was told coil sensor had fallen out of bracket and was put back in: 12/2/14 defrost board and again orfice ring were replaced.
Lennox should know from all the negative reviews that something is wrong with the defroster on the XP17 and inform companies to replace with new systems for customers who have had numerous problems and complaints. This unit replaced another Lennox system we had for over 13 years with very few problems.
I hope Lennox will restore my faith in their company and replace units they know have faulty defrost systems and I don't mean to just replace the defrost boards.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsFebruary 3, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review your XP17 Heat Pump. We understand your frustration and would like to see how we can help. Please email us at consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com with your contact information, dealer contact information, unit model/serial number and reference to this review and a member of our team will reach out to you directly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fixable problems

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
FromDartmouth, NS, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a complete install; heat pump and air handler. I am satisfied withe the air handler and for the most part the heat pump. As mentioned in other reviews when it rains at temperatures around the freezing mark it ices up to the point that the blades stop rendering the heat pump useless until the ice melts. Apparently there is a hood made to resolve the problem but Lennox does not tell you about it nor does the retailer.
What sold me on Lennox: Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Much Ice and problems with fan

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
FromCockeysville, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:6 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The unit generates too much ice in dry and wet low temperature conditions. The fan blades constantly hit the ice making a repetitive rap. Although we've been told this is normal for heat pumps, this is our tenth heat pump and the first to have this problem. Also, in sleeting conditions it only takes a very thin layer of ice on the inside of the top shroud for the fan to become complete frozen still. The tolerances are too tight or the fan needs to be placed below the shroud as with most of the other heat pumps we have owned. At this moment the unit is frozen and the outside temperature has risen to above 40 degrees.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Reputation, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quiet

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
FromGeorgia, USA
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:6 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very quiet -- not as efficient as I had hoped, but a good unit
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far the system is all and more than I expected

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDowningtown, PA 19335, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
While only having the new system for a little over a month, I already like it. First it is much quieter then I expected. Also having recieved my first electirc bill reflecting the new system, it looks like I am going to save a lot of money. Just the thermostat controls have more features then expected. All is all I am very please with the new unit and would gladly make the same choice.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPort Orchard, WA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Much quieter than I thought it would be. Haven't had it for a month yet, but I'm looking forward to the savings on my heating bill.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

XP17

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBensalem, PA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We have had this unit (heat/air) Heat Pump, Air Handler, for 2-1/2 years and have had nothing but constant maintenance having to be done. The noise level of the fan in the heat pump constantly wakes us up at night because it is so noisy with the fan blades either hitting something or the rain hitting them and also rain freezing when the temperature gets below a certain level. Noise is definitely not the least bit quiet. Constant maintenance to try to fix this problem does not help. Last Maintenance call, we were told that there was a rain shroud that does not come with the unit that would prevent these noises from occurring. Why then wasn't it included in the unit if Lennox professes to be the most silent unit available.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byCarolp99
onJanuary 25, 2015
Same problem with our unit purchased 6/20/14.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byGmabrown
onJanuary 15, 2015
Have you had any problems with the defroster on your unit? We've had our system a little over two years and it constantly goes into defrost mode. Defrost board has already been replaced. Unit is not very efficient because our electric bill goes up every month. Very unhappy with this system.
-4points
2of 8voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bybessy123
onJanuary 5, 2015
I had this unit installed on 1/13/14 in a Zone 6 climate and have also had the exact same problems this writer talks about. My most recent maintenance issue was for the clacking noise it makes in rainy, cold weather. I'm investigating the rain shroud the writer talks about. I deeply regret purchasing this unit. My previous heat pump was a Lennox, It lasted 13 years and I was very happy with it. That's why I bought this one. Big mistake - although the air conditioning does works beautifully.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 14 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an excellent unit

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
FromCanada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Purchase:New home purchase
Length of ownership:3 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent unit and I really enjoy it since the installation in August.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet good looking unit.

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMyrtle Creek, OR 97457, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since this unit sits within a few feet of our backyard patio it is a lot quieter than our old unit & doesn't look so boxy & take away from our landscape.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of Operation/Programming

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
FromDayton, WA 99328, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 week
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the programmable thermostat and how easy the entire unit is to understand and operate.
It is a really quiet unit which was a must.
Great tax and power credits helped make our decision also.
We upgraded from a 40 year old central electric furnace. Rooms were always cold. This unit keeps the warmth consistent throughout the home.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quiet and Efficient Source of Heat

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPhoenix, MD, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This heat pump is a huge upgrade over our previous system. The units inside and outside are both very quiet and the control panel is clear and easy to use. The iPhone app is great as well and offers all the convenience of the control panel.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product features

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromQuincy, IL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have only had one month. Air conditioner great. Heating just starting to use. Works good so far. Keeping fingers crossed.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great heat pump

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMcDonough, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We replaced a fourteen year old non-efficient heat pump with the Lennox EXP 17 and it is absolutely the difference between night and day. Our log home has an upstairs loft and in the hot summers in Georgia was almost unbearable. This system is so quiet you can't tell when it's running and the loft is so much cooler. It has so far cut our summer power usage by about 25% with no other changes.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is performing as promoted and is very quiet.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMoon, PA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being unfamiliar with heat pumps in general, I am happy to report that this new product is performing exceptionally well in the air conditioning category and has been in use now for about a month. Also, it was used for the first time recently in the area of heating. In both cases, the XP17 cools and helps heat the house quickly and is quiet. I am looking forward now to the expected energy savings!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>