Customer reviews for Lennox Residential XP17 Heat Pump

Lennox Residential XP17 Heat Pump

The most efficient and quietest single-stage heat pump you can buy
Overall rating:
4.655 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
51 out of 54(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for XP17 Heat Pump
Review 1 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

performs just like it states!

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer avatar
FromOthello, WA 99344, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stated as the most efficient and quietest single-stage heat pump you can buy...and it is! It has cut my electric significantly! and it is definitely quiet!!!!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
FromBremerton, WA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The heat pump is easy to run. Keeps house nice and cool during summer heat.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and efficient

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
FromKingston WA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This heat pump is very quiet and efficient. Can't even tell when it is running. I wouldn't consider owning anything other than a Lennox product.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It made me comfortable

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
FromWC,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I replaced a heat pump that came with the house. The original unit did not keep the house anywhere near uniform in temperature. The old unit roared when operating.
The XP17 is much quieter and my house is mostly uniform.
So far I am very pleased.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great products

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
FromPrince Frederick, MD, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
had to replace both units and handler in attic, checked out consumer reports ratings, the units are so more efficient, quieter , love the
I comfort wi-fi thermostats, easy to program, large display.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMaple Ridge, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We were concerned about the possible noise generated but when running, we can stand beside it and hear our neighbours heat pump blasting away over ours (and our units are on oppposite ends of our yards so you cant get further apart). So its pretty quiet.
Cools nicely in the summer (we have a three storey house) and warms in winter.
We love it and kick ourselves for not getting one sooner.
Did a lot of research on these before pulling the trigger...the research has paid off for sure with this unit. Glad we bought it.
What sold me on Lennox: Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features, economical and very quiet.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
FromMartinsville, VA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not be more pleased with the until and look forward to many years of savings on our electric bill.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is what we needed.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
FromNew Castle, PA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 month
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
At this point we are very happy with the product and hope that continues.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Quiet! You will not know it's running.

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 month
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The unit has only been in for a few weeks now and so far I am very satisfied. I would recommend this unit.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
FromAthesn, GA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We've installed two separate two-ton heat pumps and air handler systems, one year apart. Both work as advertised. I have a slight concern about the noise the first installed system makes at start up-- when the compressor kicks on. Was told it wasn't something to worry about. Both systems are quiet when running, and the efficiency is reflected in our electric bills each month. Hoping the systems work as well for many years to come.
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy this product.

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Fromwashington dc metro
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:6 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:Yes
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
3 months old the defrost switch went. 11 months the fan and fan motor died. It will cost me much money that I don't have to get this fixed.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsMay 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our product. Will you please email us at consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com with the model/serial number of the unit, your dealer's name and contact information, and your contact information. We would like to look into this further. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Running Strong Over 3 Years

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased and installed in July of 2010. The XP17 performs as advertised. On extremely hot or extremely cold days (Northern Virginia) it struggles to maintain temperatures, but those are a handful of days in Summer or Winter. So not bad over 365. As noted by another reviewer it does collect freezing rain on the blades and makes an irritating noise until the ice thaws or flies off. That sounds like a design issue that should and can be fixed. Other than that nice solution.
What sold me on Lennox: Tax Credits, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Higher electricity bill

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
FromGoose Creek, South Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:6 months
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This system was suppose to save me money not cost. My electricity is the highest it's ever been and it has been colder before.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsJanuary 31, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the XP17. Will you please email us more about your situation, including the model/serial number of your unit and your dealer's contact information to consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com? Thank you!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very unreliable after the first two years

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
FromVirginia, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My unit was great for the first two years. It has been unreliable ever since causing me significant out of pocket expense each year. So far the capacitor, fan motor, compressor, and defrost sensor have failed. Every season comes with a new failure that means I have to take time off work and pay the labor for replacing the part.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation
Response from LennoxBy Consumer AffairsJanuary 13, 2014
We would like to look into this further and see if we can help. Please email us at consumeraffairssocial@lennoxind.com with the model/serial number of your unit, and your dealer's name and contact information, as well as your contact information. Thank you for taking the time to do this and let us know about your issues!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This heat pump is very quite

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
FromBoiling Springs, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new heat pump. The only problem I have found is when we get freezing rain ice collects on the fan grill and the ice hits the fan blades. I am thinking about getting the top for the unit to keep rain out of the fan. Why is the cost of the top so high? Looks like Lennox would be happy for we home owners to get the top at an affordable price to protect our investment. Model XP17-024
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, ENERGY STAR® Qualified, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features and quiet.

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
FromLogan, IA 51546, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:6 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is easy to operate and understand.It appears to be efficient and compared to the operational cost, as to my old unit, it will pay for itself in a short period of time. Maintains a constant and comfortable climate. The installation was neat and professionally done. Am glad I made the change.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
FromSarasota, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:6 months
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We replaced our old Lennox Seer 10 AC unit that was installed in 1995 with a new high end XP-17. What a difference it has made this summer. Florida summers are very hot and humid. Our old unit had a hard time keeping the humidity levels low. But not true with this unit. Currently we are at a cozy 52% humidity that is registering on our I-Comfort thermostat. I highly recommend this unit, or a higher seer. I look forward in getting another 15 years out of this Lennox unit. You get what you pay for, money well spent. Cant wait to connect a couple of solar panels to it.
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for your buck

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
FromAllentown, PA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Purchase:Used home purchase
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product great features and when my wife and I purchased this unit, we received rebates which made it roughly the same price as the middle of the line unit. It is quiet, efficient, and great features such as dehumidify, Wifi, and a self diagonostic for our dealer. Couldn't be happier!
What sold me on Lennox: Value, Tax Credits, Reputation, Warranty, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing System

PostedJune 27, 2013
Customer avatar
FromMontreal, QC, Canada
Purchase:Planned
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is so quiet you don't even know when it is running. Don't waste money on a larger system, this is perfect for anyone who wants a balance between efficiency, quality and budget. Also it is very powerful and works effectively in the hot summers and super cold winters of Canada. This is an amazing system, I recommend 100%
What sold me on Lennox: Reputation, Features
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for XP17 Heat Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Quiet!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
FromDawsonville, ga
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Purchase:Emergency
Length of ownership:3 months
Was previous unit a Lennox:No
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warranty Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very quiet! I have three units and can't tell when they are running! We are more comfortable and the power bill is less!
What sold me on Lennox: Warranty, Features, ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>